Post To Be (Groceries)

Today was food shopping day.

Fun fact of the day: Rice Krispies are called Rice Bubbles here. I think it’s pretty cute.

IMG_1176

New Zealand doesn’t use 1%, 2%, fat free, and whole milk. Instead, they use lite, trim, and standard. I’m not too sure which one means which just yet, but I’m really hoping standard and 2% are the same. I guess we’ll find out soon.

I met my other flatmate who moved in today! He’s from China and is a freshman. He gave me and Thita a keychain, which was super sweet of him! After he gave it to us, Thita asked him if it was from China, and he responded, “Yeah, it’s made in China,” which made me laugh a little because we have a lot of items made in China back in the states.

I met up with my cousin and foi (my dad’s something, I forget how we’re related, but we are!). They live in Auckland and came to my apartment to spend some time with me. We went to Starbucks and they made sure I was comfortable, answered my questions about school life, and told me about the cool places to visit around Auckland and New Zealand. It’s a nice feeling to know that your family members care about you, even if you’ve just met them in person for the first time. Thanks for hanging out with me, Simran and Manishafoi! I had a lot of fun.

I made pasta for the first time and I had no idea (some idea after emailing Dad) what I was doing. Also, I feel like whoever made the stoves here made it more confusing than necessary. I understand left and right, but not so much front and rear. Is the front the one that’s closest to me or the one that’s closest to the knobs?! Answer: the one closer to the person. Pasta was a breeze after figuring that out.

IMG_1178

After dinner, Justin, Emily, Theresa, Evan, and I went out and about and explored the city. We walked by Albert Park (the park closest to the university and our apartments) and there was music and people tossing and playing with fire. He was spinning it super fast and very close to his body, you could tell he was talented.

IMG_1222

Leave a Reply

