The Voice

My voice is gone and I don’t know where to find it.

MAYBE my voice needs to rest in preparation for changing into that New Zealand accent.. good one Deeps, wishful thinking.

Shout-out (whisper-out?) to Emily for being my second mom and making sure I took some medicine. Emily is also studying abroad but her host university (oh, college is called uni here) is the University of Connecticut. Us ISA buds befriended her the day we moved into these apartments. I guess Americans are pretty good at spotting each other. She helped me open my apartment door. I’m not sure if it’s because I’m weak or because I really don’t know how to use keys (I always try to put them in the wrong way, but not on purpose). Probably a mix of both.


I feel fine but I know my voice is gone, which makes it hard to do much. My last flatmate moved in today but I couldn’t even tell him my name! Sorry man, I’m Deepa. Nice to meet you.

I didn’t do much today. I didn’t step out of my flat at all and tried my best not to talk, which was more difficult than I thought it would be. I kept trying to whisper to see how weird my voice sounded, but then I read that it’s more strenuous to whisper than it is to talk when a voice is gone. Also, note to self: please stop WebMD’ing whenever you are sick. I think it said that I could potentially never get my voice back. Side note: I can’t be the only one who Google’s what’s wrong with themselves when ill and then starts to freak out at all the possibilities. Good thing there’s a doctor in the fam (hi brother). Anyway, I hope my voice comes back at least a little bit tomorrow because that’s when orientation starts!

I fell asleep watching Castle. It was choice (Kiwi for very good).

Leave a Reply

