SNORKELING at Goat Island?!

It’s a misleading name for an island, don’t get too excited (unless you want to, then go for it! I don’t wanna tell you how to live your life).

This was an ISA excursion, meaning that we didn’t have to do any of the planning!! Sounds good, right? It was. We all left the apartments bright and early on Saturday (April 1) to catch the 7:30 am bus. Our main activity of the day was snorkeling, but before that, we went to the Matakana Farmers’ Markets.

Cute water area next to cute farmers’ markets
Did I say cute enough times? Also, the grass is definitely greener on this side.

Part of the farmers’ market
I tried to be casual and pretend I wasn’t taking a photo, but I don’t think I did a very good job. This was a neat stop for breakfast and I got a chocolate croissant (that was very tasty, if you wanted to know. If not, well, now you know).

Dog intently waiting for owner
There was a little area for dogs because they weren’t allowed into the farmer’s market. This one in particular clearly didn’t want to lose sight of the owner and I thought it was adorable.

As we were leaving the farmers’ markets and heading to Goat Island, we were talking about snorkeling. Someone was saying how the salt water makes you float easier. I asked, “There’s SALT in the water?!” …I forgot that the ocean had salt water. But I didn’t forget once I got into the water!

Fishy
Hey, why’s the ocean blue? Because the fish go blu blu blu. Hahaha it still makes me laugh every time.

We got fitted into our some snorkel masks, fins, and a wetsuit! Wetsuits are so neat, they help you float AND keep you warm. We snorkeled for around an hour and it was my favorite part of the day. I loved ducking my head into the water and being able to see lots of kelp, fish, and even some rays. It may still be the Pacific Ocean, but the water’s definitely clearer here.

Ray that I just named Ray
Justin, thanks for bringing your GoPro along! These two photos are print screens I snagged from his video footage. The water is SO clear, I think it’s clear (ha) to SEA here.

SALT water
After snorkeling at Goat Island (there were no goats, sorry to disappoint), we went to Leigh Eats to grab some lunch (I ate a sandwich) and then to Omaha Beach in Warkworth where we were able to just relax and chill by the beach for an hour.

Mint chocolate-y goodness
Our last stop of the day was the Puhoi Valley Cheese Cafe. The cafe is known for both award-winning cheese and award-winning ice cream!

Puhoi’s ice cream side
This cafe was so pretty, I didn’t want to leave. I loved the lights and the whole ambience! I guess the fact that it’s surrounded by nature doesn’t hurt.

Puhoi’s cheese side
LOOK at the cheese awards on the shelves in the back, they’re shaped like little cheese slices! So cute. Also, have you heard of a cheese cellar? I hadn’t until I saw the title above that door.

Sunday (April 3): I found out two things: 1) that I had four bug bites and 2) that my back was sore from snorkeling.

Other highlights this week:

Wednesday (March 30): I bought hummus and finished it by the end of the day. Oops. Do I regret this life choice? Nope, not at all.

Thursday (March 31): Got crepes with Evan!

Cookies & cream crepe
Say THAT 5 times fast. That that that that that (ha).

Friday (April 1): I went to BurgerFuel with Celeste, Theresa, Evan, and Jessica. I got a veggie burger and I’d probably eat it every day if it didn’t cost 10 bucks (maybe if it costed like 10% of that, I’d think about it).

I guess what I’m trying to say is that NZ has some good food and even better views. I think that pretty much sums it up – until next time!

Leave a Reply

