Letters to My Family

I am currently stressed out. So naturally, I decided to procrastinate. Let’s write down some thoughts.

Dear Mom & Dad,

It’s currently 1:07 AM on April 14, 2016 (NZ time). I should finish up my finance assignment that’s due tomorrow (I guess today now), and I should be studying for my marketing strategy midterm that’s on Friday, and I should sleep at some point, and I should be doing a shoot ton of other things, but I can’t concentrate.. so here I am.

You both are right (I feel like this happens a lot more than I want it to). I probably shouldn’t have worried as much as I did about how much money I’ve already spent while here, but at the same time, I like to be aware and it’s kind of important to know. Someone has to worry, right?

I dunno. I feel kinda guilty because you both are working long hours while I’m over here traveling around NZ. It’s sort of weird for my brain to process because you two are the ones who truly deserve to visit new places.

Having been here for almost two months now, I can say for certain that I’ve grown (maybe not height-wise, though). I constantly hear people who have studied abroad say that it’s one of the best decisions of their life, but it’s one of those things where you don’t really understand just how life-changing it is until you’re actually abroad. I’ve learned so much about life, cultures, and even about people I’ve met, but I’ve also learned a lot about myself in the process. I’m so thankful for this experience and the opportunity.

But how are people supposed to properly thank their parents? I’m not really sure, and I don’t think a simple ‘thank you’ could ever suffice.

I hope Arpeet and I make you two proud. I hope one day we can show you both just how much you’ve given us. I don’t know how to say thank you for everything you’ve done for us and for what you will do for us (and others!) in the future, but I hope the future me figures out a way to say thank you without actually saying thank you.

To my parents & bro,

I don’t think any of you realize how much of a positive impact you’ve had on my life thus far. You three are the reason why I don’t think love is blind, because to me, it’s pretty clear to see. I think I can see the love all the way from this side of the Pacific! 😀


I don’t know if my fambam will actually ever see this, but I guess this is my way of saying I miss you, I love you, and I’ll see you soon. 🙂

Thanks for reading, I feel better now. Now I’m gonna go to bed since the bed can’t come to me (ha, I learned that one from a joke book).

One thought on “Letters to My Family

Leave a Reply

