kayaking to Narnia

This weekend, we had our penultimate ISA trip to Cathedral Cove.

Saturday (June 4): We had to meet up at the bus stop at 7:15 am, and because of that, we were able to get a glimpse of the sunrise!

Sunrise

It took us about 2.5 hours to get to our first stop: the Hot Water Beach in Coromandel.

Moo

There was a whole bunch of fog! At one point, we were just surrounded by fog. I’ve always wondered: is fog just low clouds?

Fog ft. mountains

View from the bus! If I was Drake, I’d make the album name about NZ.

NZ’s pretty (cool)

Another view from the bus ride.

Hot water!!

This place was so unreal. I’d never heard or felt anything like it! We had to dig up the sand until we hit some hot water.

Steam!

I learned that I’m not good at shoveling. It was fun to dip our feet in and warm ourselves up because it was pretty chilly without the warm water.

Havin’ fun

Ben & Evan before they started throwing their shovels like javelins.

Hot water beach

It was a pretty cloudy day, but we thankfully never got rained on!

Kayaking!!

I was so excited to kayak for the first time! I was a little nervous because I had no idea how to do it, but I knew that once I started doing it, it wouldn’t be so bad.

Land ahoy!

I thought the rock formation looked neat. While we were kayaking over here, our tour guide told us that it’s a marine reserve.

 

Cathedral cove

This is where Narnia was filmed! The view was so beautiful, and it’s kinda funny because it was literally something you’d see out of a movie.

Back on land

The view before I had to get back on the bus.

I dunno

Life’s pretty awesome.

Sunset!

I’ve taken photos of sunrises and sunsets throughout my 21 years, but I am not sure I’ve taken many of both on the same day. It was definitely a long day, but it was also a lot of fun.

Sunday (June 5): Relaxed. I was pleasantly surprised that my arm wasn’t super sore from using the kayaking oar!

Other highlights this week:

Monday (May 30): I was super happy that my professor told us the three specific topics that would be on the exam!

Tuesday (May 31): After I came back from my last finance lecture (thank goodness) at 11 am, I studied. A lot. I pretty much studied the whole day for this advertising and promotions final.

Wednesday (June 1): I finished my first final in NZ!! It’s odd to realize I’m almost done with my semester abroad. At night, I rinsed my toothpaste tube with water instead of my toothbrush.. it’s safe to say I was fairly tired.

Thursday (June 2): The University Hall Apartments had a hall dinner for us! It was so nice to de-stress and have dinner with everyone in the apartments!

Friday (June 3): After my marketing strategy class ended, I realized that I was DONE with NZ classes!! Just gotta get through three more finals.

Leave a Reply

